Origins Awards 2008 winners announced

June 30th, 2008: Allan Sugarbaker says...
Origins Awards 2008 winners announced

Normally, I’d expect an email press release notifying us of the winners of this year’s Origins Awards (copied below). Had to search them out myself, instead. Congrats to all the winners, which include Classic Battletech as Best Miniatures Game, and Aces & Eights for Best Roleplaying Game. There’s some great winners on the list this year, and the full nominee list has even more great titles. I’ll say it again: I called the Zombie Fluxx win.

34th Annual Origins Award winners:

Miniatures Rules of the Year
Classic Battletech
Published by Catalyst Game Labs
Created by Jordan Weisman
Edited by Michelle Lyons, Diane Piron-Gelman

Miniature or Miniatures Line of the Year
Titiania’s Fury
By Dragonfire Laser Crafts Inc.

Collectible Card Game of the Year
Legend of the Five Rings
Published by Alderac Entertainment Group
Mark Wootton (lead designer), Charles Urbach (cover artist)

Historical Miniature Game of the Year
“Check Your 6!”
Published by Skirmish Campaigns
Designed by Scott Fisher

Historical Miniatures Line of the Year
Romano-British 15mm
Published by Splintered Light Miniatures
Designed by David McBride

Historical Board Game of the Year
Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery
Published by Tropical Games
Designed by Glenn Drover

Non-Fiction Publication of the Year
Hobby Games: The 100 Best
Published by Green Ronin
Edited by James Lowder

Fiction Publication of the Year
Astounding Hero Tales
Published by Hero Games
Edited by James Lowder

Game Accessory of the Year
Call of Cthulhu Dice Set
Published by Q-Workshop

Roleplaying Game Supplement of the Year
Codex Arcanis
Published by Paradigm Concepts
Written by Team Paradigm

Roleplaying Game of the Year
Aces & Eights
Published by Kenzer and Co.
Written by Jolly R. Blackburn, Brian Jelke, Steve Johansson, Dave Kenzer, Jennifer Kenzer and Mark Plemmons

Traditional Card Game of the Year
Zombie Fluxx
Published by Looney Labs
Created by Andrew Looney

Board Game or Expansion of the Year
StarCraft: The Board Game
Published by Fantasy Flight Games
Created by Corey Konieczka and Christian Petersen

Hall of Fame Inductees
* R. A. Salvatore
* Vampire: The Masquerade (White Wolf Games)
* Paranoia (Mongoose Publishing)


Browse the archives