OgreCave

Paizo to launch line of novels

March 30th, 2007: Allan Sugarbaker says...
Paizo to launch line of novels

When our next Audio Report goes up, you’ll hear how Wizards of the Coast’s latest product catalog is rather heavy on novels. Not to be deterred, Paizo Publishing has announced a “new line of classic science fantasy novel reprints” starting this August. Called Planet Stories, the sci-fi and fantasy line will bring select backlist novels to book and hobby stores for $12.99 per title. Planned releases include Almuric by Robert E. Howard; The Anubis Murders by Gary Gygax; City of the Beast/Warriors of Mars by Michael Moorcock; and Black God’s Kiss by C.L. Moore. It seems like Paizo is expanding its purview, a popular trend these days. We’ll see how it goes for them.

Paizo press release text follows:

Introducing Planet Stories: Classic Science Fantasy Novels

New Paizo Novel Line to Feature Moorcock, Howard, Gygax

March 30, 2007 (BELLEVUE, Wash.) – Paizo Publishing®, LLC announced the
creation of a new line of classic science fantasy novel reprints called
Planet Stories. With large printing houses distancing themselves from
backlisted novels, Planet Stories brings back some of the long forgotten
classic inspirations for much of today’s science fiction and fantasy genres.
Planet Stories will be available at your local book or hobby store and will
retail for around $12.99 each.

This August, Planet Stories launches with two venerable titles from classic
veterans of the science fiction and fantasy genres:

Almuric, by Robert E. Howard, is a savage planet of crumbling stone ruins
and debased, near-human inhabitants. Into this world comes Esau Cairn,
Earthman, swordsman, murderer. Only he can overthrow the terrible devils
that enslave Almuric, but to do so he must first defeat the inner demons
that forced him to abandon Earth. Filled with vile beasts and thrilling
adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Almuric is one of
Howard’s few novels, and an excellent yarn from one of America’s most
distinct literary voices. Robert E. Howard is most known for creating the
fictional character, Conan the Cimmerian (a.k.a. Conan the Barbarian), who
has been featured in comic books, short stories, novels, and feature films
for over 70 years. Howard’s work is often credited as the source of the
sword-and-sorcery genre and influenced everyone from J.R.R. Tolkien to
George R.R. Martin.

The Anubis Murders, by Gary Gygax, weaves a fantastic tale of warring
wizards that spans the world from the pyramids of ancient Egypt to the
mist-shrouded towns of medieval England. Someone is murdering the world’s
most powerful sorcerers, and the trail of blood leads straight to Anubis,
the solemn god known by most as the Master of Jackals. Can Magister Setne
Inhetep, personal philosopher-wizard to the Pharaoh, reach the distant
kingdom of Avillonia and put an end to the Anubis Murders, or will he be
claimed as the latest victim? Gary Gygax co-created the DUNGEONS & DRAGONS
roleplaying game over 30 years ago and has watched it grow to become one of
the largest entertainment sources in the hobby gaming industry. DUNGEONS &
DRAGONS has been played by tens of millions worldwide and the name Gygax is
instantly recognizable to any fans of the game, past or present.

Planet Stories will release one classic science fantasy novel each month
beginning this September. Additional planned releases include:

City of the Beast/Warriors of Mars, by Michael Moorcock, features the return
of Moorcock’s Eternal Champion, Kane of Old Mars, a brilliant American
physicist whose strange experiments in matter transmission catapult him
across space and time to the Red Planet. Kane’s is a Mars of the distant
past, a place of romantic civilizations, fabulous many-spired cities, and
the gorgeous princess Shizala. To win her hand and bring peace to Mars, Kane
must defeat the terrible Blue Giants of the Argzoon, whose ravaging hordes
threaten the whole planet! Adventure in the Edgar Rice Burroughs tradition
from the creator of Elric of Melniboné. The first stand-alone American
printing since 1979, City of the Beast/Warrior of Mars will be available
this September.

Black God’s Kiss, by C.L. Moore, was first published in the pages of Weird
Tales in 1934. C.L. Moore’s Jirel of Joiry is the first significant female
sword-and-sorcery protagonist and one of the most exciting and evocative
characters the genre has ever known. Published alongside seminal works by
H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, the five classic fantasy tales included
in this volume easily stand the test of time and often overshadow the
storytelling power and emotional impact of stories by Moore’s more famous
contemporaries. A seminal work from one of fantasy’s most important
authors, Black God’s Kiss is an essential addition to any fantasy library
and will be available this October.

To learn more, visit Planet Stories online at paizo.com/planetstories.

ABOUT PAIZO PUBLISHING
Paizo Publishing®, LLC is a leading publisher of fantasy roleplaying games,
accessories, and board games. Paizo’s GameMastery line offers game masters
fun and useful tools to improve their fantasy roleplaying experience.
Titanic Games, Paizo’s board game division, unites the greatest game
designers to create compelling, challenging games like Kill Doctor Lucky and
Stonehenge, the world’s first Anthology Board Game™. Paizo.com is the
leading online hobby retail store, offering tens of thousands of products
from a variety of publishers to customers all over the world. In the five
years since it’s founding, Paizo Publishing has received more than a dozen
major awards and has grown to become one of the most influential companies
in the hobby games industry.

ABOUT PLANET STORIES
Planet Stories™ presents classic fantasy, science fiction, and science
fantasy novels and short story collections to a generation of new readers
and lifelong fans. Unforgettable tales from acknowledged masters like
Michael Moorcock, Leigh Brackett, C.L. Moore, and Henry Kuttner stand side
by side with lesser known but no less worthy yarns from tomorrow’s
superstars. Introductions from popular modern authors like Joe R. Lansdale,
Ben Bova, and Michael Moorcock provide amusing and informative entry points
to each book. With new releases every month, Planet Stories promises a
master class in the genre aimed at building the greatest fantasy and science
fiction library ever assembled.

Planet Stories and the “planet” logo are trademarks of and Paizo Publishing
and the Paizo “golem” logo are registered trademarks of Paizo Publishing,
LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Comments Closed

Comments are closed.

Browse the archives